How To Delete Your Venmo Account?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
How to delete Venmo Account

Venmo is an application for social payments between friends and colleagues, and this platform offers an easy way to manage your payments. PayPal is the parent company of Venmo, and it has been operating since 2009, with a user base of around 60 million.

If you want to use other payment apps and face issues regarding the platform, our article will help you resolve your problems and find a better solution.

This article will give a detailed look at the following topics:

  • How to delete your Venmo account?
  • How to delete your Venmo transaction history?

How To Delete Venmo Account?

Before deleting your Venmo account, make sure to download your Venmo transaction history to avoid future problems regarding your personal book of accounts. Once you delete the account, you won’t reaccess your transaction history. Furthermore, if funds are in your Venmo account, transfer them to your bank.

  The user cannot delete a Venmo business account; it can only be done by contacting the Venmo team through the “Contact us” option. 

A Venmo account cannot be deleted from a mobile phone, and you have to use a desktop computer and launch the Venmo website through a browser for the same.  

Follow the given steps to delete your Venmo account:  

  1. Open the browser and sign in to your Venmo account.
  2. Click on the settings option using the sidebar menu on the left.
  3. At the bottom of the page, click on the “Close my Venmo Account” option.
  4. A pop-up will ask you to review and download your most recent statement.
  5. Thus, your account will be deleted, and a final transaction history will be sent to your registered email address.

How To Delete Your Venmo Transaction History?

If you are a Venmo user, you might have realized that your transactions are visible to some people, and in a way, it may raise a concern about your privacy. So, many Venmo users find it a must to delete the transaction history on the app. Most of the time, the user can only access the information, but your information is still saved by default on the Venmo app. 

Follow these steps to change your transaction settings :

(1) Log in to your Venmo account.

(2) A hamburger icon is displayed in the top left corner.

(3) Tap on settings and click on the “Default Privacy Settings” to edit your profile settings.

(4) Click on the “Past Transactions” menu. A “Change All to Private” option will be seen.

(5) This deletes your history, and your transactions will only be visible to you and the recipient or sender.

(6) Go back to the “Privacy” setting and click “Change Anyway” to make your transaction history private.

(7) A final message will pop up to change your settings.

Changing the settings makes your previous transactions and your future transactions private, and other people won’t access your transaction history.