How To Close The New York Times Account Of A Deceased Person

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

How To Close The New York Times Account Of A Deceased Person

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The New York Times is one of the most well renowned daily newspapers in the world. Based in New York City, the newspaper was first established in 1851 and has now grown its readership all around the world and is now home to 132 Pulitzer prizes. In 1995, The Times launched an online edition to expand their reader base and is now available in print, web and apps.

Now that you know what The New York Times is, let’s find out how to close the account.

How to close a New York Times account:

  • The first thing to note is that you cannot directly close the New York Times account by going to account settings. You’ll need to contact customer service to close the account.
  • You will need to email The New York Times at help@nytimes.com and request the deletion of your account. Please use the term “delete” and not vague terminologies like remove or deactivate. Using ambiguous terms might suggest that you want to deactivate your account or put it on hold. Using the term “delete” ensures all the data will be deleted from the archives as well. It will take a minimum of 48 hours to get a response.
  • On the same Contact Us page, click the blue button that reads Chat With Us towards the bottom of your page. There is an option to Begin Chat.
  • Fill up the form that is provided with your request and contact details. Do mention that you want the account to be permanently closed as representatives might try to persuade you otherwise.
  • For a quicker option, you can try calling 800-NYTIMES (800-698-4637). The customer service department is open from 7 am to 10 pm (Eastern Time) on weekdays. 7 am to 3 pm (ET) on weekends.

Points to remember:

  • Unsubscribe yourself from the mailing list of The New York Times to avoid getting unnecessary emails and promotions.
  • Opt-out of auto-renewal from your iTunes or google play account to avoid getting charged while the account is being deleted.
  • If they charged you even after you have tried to cancel, contact customer care in the above-mentioned methods as you might be eligible for a refund. 

Now that you know how to delete the New York Times account, you might also realize the complications that may arise when deleting the account of a deceased person. The major one is not having access to the account holder’s login information. By making use of a Digital Estate Plan, you get to decide what happens to each of your Digital Assets following your death or incapacitation.

Sign up with Clocr today to get started with creating your own Digital Will.